Linda St-Pierre To Receive Award

(Sudbury – 15 January 2018)

We are delighted to announce that Linda St-Pierre is the 2018 recipient of OCUFA’s prestigious Lorimer Award. The award, which will be presented in Toronto on Saturday, Feb. 3 recognizes outstanding, sustained accomplishment in support of bargaining in the university sector. Those of us who know Linda can attest to the depth,  intensity and quality of her contributions to LUFA, OCUFA and CAUT. She is most deserving of this honour.

Congratulations from all of us, Linda!

James Ketchen
President

Grievance 2017-05 Faculty Lounge

(Sudbury – 11 January 2018)

In April, the grievance regarding the administration’s failure to provide a faculty lounge was resolved through a Memorandum of Agreement. The administration agreed to provide LUFA members with a new space by January 2018.

We are pleased to announce that the Faculty Lounge will reopen on Monday January 22nd at its new location in Room JD-234, just outside the library, next to the elevator.

Physical Plant has devoted time and resources in renewing the space. It has been freshly painted and a kitchenette was installed. LUFA had requested the possibility of having water access in the space. We were told that this would be difficult given the location of the pipes. However, we were informed today that extraordinary measures were taken to install a sink and tap in the new space. The cold water pipe was included and a small hot water tank was installed under the sink.

Furniture will be transferred to the new space next week. We will distribute the new passcode soon.

Given the new changes in the CA, this space is no longer shared with the administration. It is exclusively for the use of LUFA members.

Thank you to Brad Park , Pierre Fontaine and their team for the great work in setting up the new space.

Linda St-Pierre
Chief Grievance Officer

 

LUFA Supports Striking Workers at the Sudbury Counselling Centre

(Sudbury, 18 December 2017)

On Dec. 14, LUFA Secretary-Treasurer Jean-Charles Cachon and Kathleen Zinn (LUFA Trustee with the CAUT Defence Fund) presented a cheque for $750 in support of 12 striking workers at the Sudbury Counselling Centre. The strike began on Oct. 16, 2017. The workers, who are members of USW Local 2020, been without a contract since July 31. Standing from left to right in the photo (below) are Lise Plante, Cachon, Zinn, and Carolyn Szilva. “Heartfelt thanks for the generous support from LUFA and for bringing the cheque to us,” said Szilva in a subsequent email. “It was great to meet you. We are grateful to all of you for your support!” Plante and Szilva are both Laurentian alumnae, as are two other counselling service professionals on the picket line.

scc_14dec2017

Rally and March in Support of Striking College Faculty

(Sudbury – 7 November 2017)

We will be joining our colleagues at Boréal and Cambrian (OPSEU Locals 673 and 655) for a rally and march this Thursday, Nov. 9, walking from the New Sudbury Centre to MPP Glenn Thibeault’s office at 555 Barry Downe Road. We will be meeting at 10:30 am at the mall in front of Sears, walking to his office to spend about an hour there, then walking back to the mall for 12:30 pm. You can also join us at Thibeault’s office at 11.

We have been showing our support for College faculty by joining them on the picket line and donating $1,000 to each local for each week of the strike. Attached is a photo of Secretary-Treasurer Jean-Charles Cachon presenting our first cheque to OPSEU Local 673 President (and sessional LUFA member) David Fasciano on Oct. 24.

lufa_opseu24oct2017

Picket in Support of College Faculty, October 24, 2017

(Sudbury – 20 October 2017)

Dear Members,

On Tuesday, Oct. 24, please join us on the picket line at Collège Boréal and Cambrian College as we picket in support of our colleagues there. As you know, they are on strike to defend many of the same principles and values that we ourselves recently struck for. We will be at Collège Boréal at noon to picket for a while, then going to Cambrian College. Come on out and show that we are with them!

In solidarity,
The LUFA Executive

Laurentian University and the Laurentian University Faculty Association Ratify Three-Year Collective Agreement

(SUDBURY – October 10, 2017)

The Laurentian University Faculty Association (LUFA) and Laurentian University have formally ratified a new collective agreement. On Friday, LUFA members voted 98% in favour of the 3-year extension to the collective agreement which expired on June 30. Laurentian’s Board of Governors unanimously ratified the agreement today.

“This agreement is good news for our employees and the entire Laurentian community. I want to thank both the Laurentian University and the LUFA bargaining teams for their hard work and cooperation,” said Pierre Zundel, Laurentian University Interim President and Vice Chancellor. “This agreement will provide our faculty with the stability and supports to continue providing our students with a world-class education, and will provide organizational stability as we finalize the University’s 2018-2023 Strategic Plan.”

The 3-year contract extension will remain in effect until June 30, 2020. Under the terms of the agreement, LUFA members will receive a normative annual salary increase, and both sides agreed to begin discussions with regard to pension and workload equity.

“I want to thank both negotiation teams for their hard work in seeing this very tough round of negotiations through,” said Jim Ketchen, LUFA President. “We believe that both the Laurentian Board and the University Administration have heard the concerns of faculty and that in responding to those concerns, this agreement positions Laurentian University in a quite positive way to move forward in providing quality education and the production of very important research.”

Laurentian University and LUFA want to thank members of the bargaining teams led by Denis Hurtubise for LUFA and Geoff Tierney for Laurentian University, for their commitment and dedication to achieving a mutually beneficial agreement.

Classes will resume on Wednesday October 11th for students who do not have a scheduled reading week. All other students will resume on October 16th.

LUFA represents 373 full-time and 304 part-time Faculty members at Laurentian University in Sudbury and Barrie.

Laurentian University and Faculty Association Reach Tentative Agreement

(Sudbury – 5 October 2017)

The Laurentian University Faculty Association (LUFA) and Laurentian University are pleased to announce they have reached a tentative agreement that will end the faculty strike.

“I am pleased that both bargaining teams have reached an agreement that fulfills the needs of our faculty and the university.” said Interim Laurentian President and Vice-Chancellor, Pierre Zundel. “Now we can all get back to providing a world class education to our students.”

“I am proud of our team and what we have all accomplished”, added Dr. Jim Ketchen, President of LUFA. “It hasn’t been easy but both sides should be congratulated for reaching this agreement.”

The tentative agreement is subject to ratification by LUFA members and the University’s Board of Governors.

Both parties will work to ensure ratification votes happen as quickly as possible so that faculty and students can return to the classroom.

LUFA and Laurentian University are committed to moving forward together to make sure the return to class is a smooth one.

Classes will resume on October 16th for those students with a reading week. Courses in Barrie and online will resume Tuesday pending ratification.  More details will be available at laurentian.ca.

The terms of the tentative agreement will not be disclosed at this time.

Negotiations Update – 5 October 2017

(Sudbury – 5 October 2017)

LUFA is looking forward to continuing talks today with the Administration and is hopeful that they will bring about a fair deal that is beneficial for the university community, including for students.

“Our commitment to getting a deal is the reason why we never left the negotiating table in the first place,” says LUFA president Jim Ketchen. “We’re always ready and willing to talk.”

This morning, picketers at the Main Campus and at the McEwan School of Architecture are distributing handouts detailing LUFA’s positive and inclusive vision. For Ketchen, this is an important message for students and the public: “These negotiations are important for Laurentian’s future. After years of campus modernization, we should all focus on the learning experience happening in the classroom.”

Linda St-Pierre se verra décerner un prix

(Sudbury – 15 janvier 2018)

Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer que Linda St-Pierre a été choisie lauréate de 2018 du prestigieux Prix Lorimer décerné par l’UAPUO. Ce prix, qui sera remis à Toronto le samedi 3 février, vise à souligner les réalisations exceptionnelles et la contribution constante au soutien de la cause des négociations dans le secteur universitaire. Ceux et celles d’entre nous qui connaissent bien Linda peuvent témoigner de la qualité, de l’importance et de l’intensité de ses contributions à l’APPUL, l’UAPUO et l’ACPPU. Linda est tout à fait digne de cet honneur.

Félicitations Linda de la part de nous tous!

James Ketchen
Président

Grief 2017-05 – Salon des professeurs

(Sudbury – 11 janvier 2018)

En avril dernier, le grief concernant le manquement de la part de l’Administration de fournir un Salon des professeurs a été réglé à la suite de la signature d’un protocole d’entente. L’Administration avait accepté de fournir aux membres de l’APPUL un nouveau local au plus tard en janvier 2018.

Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer que le nouveau Salon des professeurs ouvrira ses portes à compter du lundi 22 janvier dans la salle JD-234 située juste à l’extérieur de la bibliothèque près de l’ascenseur.

Le service des installations physiques a consacré temps et ressources pour rénover la salle. Les murs ont été repeints et une cuisinette a été installée. L’APPUL avait demandé la possibilité d’avoir un accès d’eau dans la salle. On nous a informés que cela serait difficile étant donné l’emplacement des tuyaux d’eau. Toutefois, on a appris aujourd’hui que des mesures exceptionnelles ont été prises pour installer un évier et un robinet dans le nouveau salon. La cuisinette a maintenant un tuyau d’eau froide et un petit réservoir d’eau chaude a été installé sous l’évier.

Le mobilier sera installé dans le nouveau salon la semaine prochaine. Nous vous informerons prochainement du nouveau code d’accès.

Étant donné les modifications apportées à la convention collective, ce salon ne sera plus partagé avec les membres de l’Administration et sera réservé exclusivement aux membres de l’APPUL.

Nous tenons à remercier Brad Park, Pierre Fontaine et leur équipe de l’excellent travail qu’ils ont fait pour préparer notre nouveau salon.

Linda St-Pierre
Déléguée en chef

L’APPUL appuie les travailleuses en grève au Centre de counseling de Sudbury

(Sudbury – 18 décembre 2017)

Le 14 décembre, Jean-Charles Cachon, secrétaire-trésorier de l’APPUL, et Kathleen Zinn, administratrice-fiduciaire représentant l’APPUL auprès de la Caisse de défense de l’ACPPU, ont présenté un chèque de 750 $ à l’appui des douze travailleuses en grève au Centre de counseling de Sudbury. La grève a été déclenchée le 16 octobre 2017. Les travailleuses, qui sont membres de la section locale 2020 du Syndicat des Métallos, sont sans contrat de travail depuis le 31 juillet. De gauche à droite dans la photo sont Lise Plante, Jean-Charles Cachon, Kathleen Zinn et Carolyn Szilva. Dans un courriel envoyé après la présentation du chèque, Carolyn Szilva écrit : « Nous remercions sincèrement l’APPUL de sa générosité et de nous avoir remis le chèque en main propre. Ce fut un plaisir de vous rencontrer. Nous vous sommes reconnaissantes de votre appui! » Lise Plante et Kathleen Szilva, ainsi que deux autres professionnelles en counseling sur le piquet de grève, sont d’anciennes étudiantes de l’Université Laurentienne.

scc_14dec2017

 

Rassemblement et marche à l’appui des professeurs collégiaux en grève

(Sudbury – 7 novembre 2017)

Nous nous joindrons à nos collègues des collèges Boréal et Cambrian (section locale 673 et 655 du SEFPO) pour un rassemblement et une marche ce jeudi 9 novembre; nous marcherons du Centre commercial du Nouveau Sudbury jusqu’au bureau du député provincial Glenn Thibeault au 555 chemin Barry Downe. Nous nous rencontrerons à 10h30 au centre commercial devant le magasin Sears et nous marcherons jusqu’au bureau du député provincial où nous resterons environ une heure pour ensuite retourner au centre commercial à 12h30. Vous pouvez également vous joindre à nous au bureau de Glenn Thibeault à 11h.

Nous avons démontré notre appui envers les professeurs des collèges en manifestant avec eux sur le piquet de grève et en versant un don de 1 000 $ à chacune des sections locales pour chaque semaine de grève. Vous trouverez ci-annexé une photo du secrétaire-trésorier Jean-Charles Cachon qui remet notre premier chèque à David Fasciano, président de la section locale 673 du SEFPO (et membre chargé de cours de l’APPUL) le 24 octobre.

lufa_opseu24oct2017

Piquetage à l’appui des professeurs collégiaux en grève, 24 octobre 2017

(Sudbury, 20 octobre 2017)

Chers / Chères membres,

Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous le mardi 24 octobre sur les lignes de piquetage du Collège Boréal et du Collège Cambrian pour manifester notre appui à l’endroit de nos collègues. Comme vous le savez, ils sont en grève pour défendre bon nombre des mêmes principes et valeurs pour lesquels nous avons récemment fait la grève. Nous serons au Collège Boréal à compter de midi pour piqueter pendant un certain temps, puis nous irons ensuite piqueter au Collège Cambrian. Venez leur démontrer votre appui et votre solidarité!

En toute solidarité,
Le comité de direction de l’APPUL

L’Université Laurentienne et l’Association des professeures et professeurs de l’Université Laurentienne ratifient une convention collective de trois ans

(SUDBURY – 10 octobre 2017)

L’Association des professeures et professeurs de L’Université Laurentienne (APPUL) et l’Université Laurentienne ont ratifié officiellement une nouvelle convention collective. Vendredi dernier, les membres de l’APUL ont voté en faveur (98 %) du prolongement de trois ans de la convention collective qui est arrivée à échéance le 30 juin. Aujourd’hui, le Conseil des gouverneurs de la Laurentienne a ratifié l’entente à l’unanimité.

« L’accord est une bonne nouvelle pour notre personnel et l’ensemble de notre collectivité universitaire, a dit le recteur et vice-chancelier par intérim, Pierre Zundel. Je tiens à remercier les équipes de négociation de l’UL et de l’APUL pour tous leurs efforts et leur collaboration. Cette entente donne à notre corps professoral la stabilité et les soutiens dont il a besoin pour continuer à offrir un enseignement de calibre mondial à notre population étudiante tout en assurant la solidité organisationnelle alors que nous peaufinons le Plan stratégique 2018-2023 de l’Université. »

Le prolongement de trois ans du contrat sera en vigueur jusqu’au 30 juin 2021. Les modalités de l’entente prévoient une augmentation salariale normative annuelle pour les membres de l’APUL et les deux parties s’engagent à entamer les discussions en matière de pension et d’équité dans la charge de travail.

« Je remercie les deux équipes de négociation qui ont travaillé si fort pour mener à bonne fin ce cycle de négociation assez ardu, a dit le président de l’APUL, Jim Ketchen. Nous croyons que le Conseil aussi bien que l’administration de la Laurentienne ont pris connaissance des préoccupations du corps professoral. L’entente fait valoir ces préoccupations, ce qui accorde à l’Université Laurentienne une position avantageuse allant de l’avant pour offrir un enseignement de qualité et poursuivre des recherches très importantes. »

L’Université Laurentienne et l’APUL tiennent à remercier les membres des équipes de négociation dirigées par Denis Hurtubise, pour l’APUL, et Geoff Tierney, pour l’Université Laurentienne, de leur dévouement et de leur engagement envers la conclusion d’une entente mutuellement avantageuse.

Les étudiants qui n’ont pas une semaine d’études prévue à l’horaire seront de retour en classe à compter de mercredi. Tous les autres étudiants reprendront les cours le lundi 16 octobre.

L’APUL représente 373 membres à plein temps et 304 membres à temps partiel du corps professoral de l’Université Laurentienne à Sudbury et à Barrie.

 

L’Université Laurentienne et L’Association des professeures de l’Université Laurentienne parviennent à un accord provisoire

(Sudbury – 5 octobre 2017)

L’Association des professeures et de professeurs de l’Université Laurentienne (APPUL) et l’Université Laurentienne sont ravis d’annoncer un accord provisoire qui mettra fin à la grève du corps professoral.

« Je suis ravi que les deux équipes de négociation aient conclu un accord qui répond aux besoins de notre corps professoral et de l’université », a déclaré le recteur et vice-chancelier intérimaire de l’Université Laurentienne, Pierre Zundel. « Maintenant, nous pouvons tous revenir à fournir une éducation de classe mondiale à nos étudiantes et nos étudiants. »

« Je suis fier de notre équipe et de ce que nous avons tous accompli », a ajouté le professeur Jim Ketchen, président de l’APPUL. « Ce n’était pas facile, mais les deux partis devraient être félicités pour avoir conclu cet accord ».

L’accord provisoire est sujet à un vote de ratification par les membres de l’APPUL et par le Conseil des gouverneurs de l’Université.

Les deux partis veilleront à ce que les votes de ratification se produisent le plus rapidement possible afin que le corps professoral et les étudiants puissent retourner dans la salle de classe.

L’APPUL et l’Université Laurentienne se sont engagés à travailler ensemble pour s’assurer que le retour en classe soit harmonieux.

Les cours reprendront le 16 octobre pour les étudiants ayant une semaine de lecture. Les cours à Barrie et en ligne se poursuivront mardi si le vote de ratification est positif. Plus de détails seront disponibles à laurentienne.ca.

Les termes de l’entente provisoire ne seront pas divulgués en ce moment.

Les pourparlers se poursuivent entre l’APPUL et l’Administration – 5 octobre 2017

(Sudbury – 5 octobre 2017)

L’APPUL accueille favorablement la poursuite des négociations avec l’Administration et espère qu’ils parviendront à une entente équitable qui bénéficiera à l’ensemble de la communauté universitaire, incluant les étudiants.

« Dès le début, notre volonté de parvenir à une entente a fait en sorte que nous n’avons jamais quitté la table de négociation », a indiqué le président de l’APPUL, Jim Ketchen, « nous sommes toujours disponibles et prêts à négocier ».

Ce matin, les grévistes au campus principal et à l’École d’architecture McEwan distribuent un document sur la vision positive et inclusive que propose l’APPUL. D’après Ketchen, c’est un message important pour les étudiants et le public : « Ces négociations sont importantes pour l’avenir de la Laurentienne. Après des années dédiées à la modernisation du campus, il est important de se consacrer à l’expérience pédagogique qui se déroule dans ces nouvelles salles de classe. »